NBLC Top Stories

NBL-C News Articles

NBLC'S Top Stories

NBL Canada Announces Postseason Awards For The 2015-2016 Season

Released: May 06, 2016
By: NBL Canada Media


The National Basketball League of Canada is pleased to announce the winners and recipients of the NBL's postseason awards.

The NBL's Most Valuable Player has been awarded to Logan Stutz of the Niagara River Lions.  Stutz, a 6'9" forward who played collegiately at Washburn, led the NBL in scoring with 21.6 points per game, and was regularly the leading scorer for the River Lions this season.

The NBL's Coach of the Year has been awarded to Hugo Lopez of the Halifax Hurricanes.  In his first season with the Hurricanes, Lopez guided the team to a 29-11 record, tying the record for most wins by a first-year franchise.

The NBL's Canadian Player of the Year is Warren Ward of the London Lightning.  The 6'5" guard, who played collegiately at the University at Ottawa, led London with 115 three-pointers and averaged 13.8 points per game.

The NBL's Defensive Player of the Year is Anthony Stover of the Saint John Mill Rats.  The 6'11" centre from UCLA not only broke the original record for most blocked shots in a season (66), he actually doubled the mark (132).  He was also one of two players this season to have a triple double, and the first player in three years to score a triple double where one of the marks was 10 or more blocked shots.

The NBL's Rookie of the Year is Stephen Maxwell of the London Lightning.  Maxwell, a 6'7" forward from Cal State-Northridge, averaged 18.6 points per game and 11.8 rebounds per game, leading London in both categories - and becoming the first rookie to average a double-double in a season.

The NBL's Newcomer of the Year (prior professional experience, but first season playing in the NBL) is James Justice of the Moncton Miracles.  The 5'10" guard from Martin Methodist averaged 19.6 points per game for Moncton, and led the team in completed 3-pointers (101), free throw accuracy (81%) and steals (69).  Justice was also one of two players to achieve a triple double in a game this season.

The NBL's Sixth Man of the Year has been awarded to Mike Glover of the Halifax Hurricanes.  Despite starting only three of the forty games he played this season, Glover averaged 16.6 points per game with the Hurricanes, and was the leading scorer in eleven of those contests.

The Ian Fowler Executive of the Year has been awarded to Dartis Willis Jr. of the Windsor Express.  The owner of the two-time NBL champion Express has seen increased attendance at the WFCU Centre, and his addition of the "Clash at the Colisseum," Windsor's annual game at the Caesars Windsor Casino, has evolved into a marquee midseason event for the NBL.



About the National Basketball League of Canada

Celebrating its fifth season, the National Basketball League of Canada (NBLC) was founded in 2011, and is Canada's only professional domestic basketball league. There are currently 9 teams, with two divisions: Central and Atlantic. The NBLC is committed to being one of the leading professional basketball leagues in the world. The NBLC provides Canadian athletes, international athletes, coaches and officials the opportunity to participate in the game they love at the professional level. The NBLC is also dedicated to raising awareness of the sport of basketball throughout Canada, by providing fans with an exciting and entertaining experience.



For more information on the league, visit www.nblcanada.ca. Connect with us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/nblcanada, Facebook at www.facebook.com/nblcanada or Tumblr at www.nblcanada.tumblr.com.The National Basketball League of Canada is pleased to announce the winners and recipients of the NBL's postseason awards.



© Copyright 2013 NBL Canada. All Rights Reserved.
A rave7 Implementation By Wadetech